Burglary / Residential Burglary
Fight Back Against Connecticut’s Burglary Crackdown
Over the last few years, our state has seen a dramatic drop in burglary, residential burglary, and other property crimes. In fact, although they were once on par with national rates, property crime rates in Connecticut have fallen to well below the national level during the last few decades.
So why are law enforcement officials in New Haven and across Connecticut still going after these types of crimes with a vengeance?
Because much of that drop in the crime rate can be attributed to reforms made to the criminal justice system. Moreover, now that our state has a reputation for low levels of property crime, police officers and local courts are working together to crack down on burglary and other property offenses. Those arrested or charged with burglary in New Haven face lengthy prison sentences, huge fines, and a lifelong stain on their criminal record.
As an experienced New Haven criminal defense lawyer, I know what defendants are up against in a Connecticut burglary case. While working with clients accused of burglary, I have witnessed the tough stance our state takes on property crimes. I understand the fear, stress, and uncertainty that comes with being charged with burglary and understand the gravity of the penalties my clients are facing. That is why I do everything in my power to ensure their rights are protected, and why I fight to obtain the best possible outcome in their case.
If you have been charged with a burglary crime here, you deserve a fair trial and a strong defense. Get in touch with The Law Office of Douglas D. Rudolph to find out how I can help protect your rights as you battle your Connecticut burglary charges.
Douglas D. Rudolph Looks at Burglary Laws in New Haven
In Connecticut, burglary is considered a Class B, C, or D felony depending on the activity involved. Our state also views home invasion – a very serious type of residential burglary – as a Class A felony. In addition, Connecticut considers the crime of manufacturing or possessing burglar’s tools as a class A misdemeanor.
Below, I have outlined the different types of burglary crimes, including first, second, and third-degree burglary, home invasion, and manufacturing or possessing burglar’s tools.
First Degree Burglary
Connecticut classifies first-degree burglary as a Class B felony. Our state defines first-degree burglary as the unlawful entry into a building with the intent to commit a crime if any of the following apply:
- You are armed with a deadly weapon, explosives, or dangerous instrument, AND
- You harm or try to harm someone, OR
- You enter a dwelling during the night
If you are convicted of burglary in the first degree, you face up to 40 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000. In addition, if you were armed during the burglary, you face a mandatory minimum prison sentence of five years.
Second Degree Burglary
Connecticut classifies second-degree burglary as a Class C felony. Our state defines second-degree burglary as the unlawful entry into a building with the intent to commit a crime if the building is occupied by someone else.
If you are convicted of burglary in the second degree, you face up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Third Degree Burglary
Connecticut classifies third-degree burglary as a Class D felony. Our state defines third-degree burglary as the unlawful entry into a building with the intent to commit a crime.
If you are convicted of burglary in the third degree, you face up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Connecticut classifies home invasion, the most serious type of residential burglary, as a Class A felony. Our state defines home invasion as the unlawful entry into a dwelling with the intent to commit a crime if any of the following apply:
- You or an accomplice commit or attempts to commit a felony against someone within the dwelling, OR
- You are armed with a deadly weapon, explosives, or a dangerous instrument
If you are convicted of home invasion, you face up to 50 years in prison and a fine of up to $20,000. A home invasion sentence carries a minimum prison term of 10 years.
Manufacturing or Possessing Burglar’s Tools
Connecticut classifies the manufacturing or possession of burglar’s tools as a misdemeanor. Our state makes it illegal to manufacture or possess burglar’s tools if you intend to commit a crime with these tools or know that another person intends to commit a crime with these tools. Our state defines burglar’s tools to be any instrument or device designed or typically used to break into a building, safe, vehicle, or similar location.
If you are found guilty of manufacturing or possessing burglar’s tools, you face up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
Contact the Law Office of Douglas D. Rudolph to Build a Powerful, Personalized Defense Against Your Connecticut Burglary Charge
Over my years working as a criminal lawyer, I have had the opportunity to take on many burglary cases. One of the most common defense tactics is to eliminate one of the elements necessary for the crime to constitute burglary.
For example, we may be able to show you did not enter or remain in a building unlawfully or that you may not have committed or intended to commit a crime. By successfully discrediting one or more elements of your burglary case, we may be able to have the charges against you reduced or dropped entirely.
That said, every case is unique and every defense strategy should be too. When working with a client who has been charged with burglary, I take the time to listen to their story and concerns, research their case, gather testimonies, and consult with experts. That way, we can craft the strongest defense for your individual circumstances.
Contact the Law Office of Douglas D. Rudolph to start building a powerful, personalized defense today. At my new Haven law office, your initial consultation is always free. If you decide to work with us, you can rest assured that my legal team and I will work tirelessly to secure the best possible outcome in your burglary case.
Call us today at (203) 343-7579 or contact us online.
Get in TouchFill out the contact form or call us at (203) 343-7579 to schedule your free consultation.
- 1 Proven Record of Success
- 2 Free Consultation
- 3 Contact Us Today