, What to Look for in Hiring a Criminal Defense Attorney
request
X

REQUEST A

Free Consultation

Call Today For A Free Consultation

(203) 343-7579

AVAILABLE 24 HOURS/7 DAYS

menu

close_menu

ASSAULT/SEXUAL ASSAULT

Request a Free Consultation

Taking on a New Haven Assault Charge Requires a Powerful Defense

The Connecticut criminal justice system may classify virtually any criminal act involving injury through the use of violence, force, or a deadly weapon as assault. As state law enforcement struggles to bring violent crime rates down across the area, courts are handing out tough penalties to those convicted with any kind of assault crime.

Of course, as we know very well at our law office, not everyone hit with an assault charge in New Haven feels like they did anything wrong. You may have been surprised to learn you were being charged with assault after a fight got out of hand. Or perhaps you were in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Being saddled with assault charges can be terrifying and stressful, but it is important to keep your right to a quality defense in mind. As an experienced Connecticut criminal lawyer, I recognize the seriousness of any violent crime charge in our state and am driven by the goal of providing the best legal representation possible for my clients. After being accused of assault, you should speak with me at The Law Office of Douglas D. Rudolph immediately.

Your Defense Starts with Understanding Assault Laws in Connecticut

The Connecticut criminal justice system categorizes assault crimes by degree. The degree of assault you are facing may depend on your intent, the severity of the injury involved in the case, the way the injury was allegedly caused, and the seriousness of the risk involved. Assault in the first degree is the most serious, while assault in the third degree is the least serious.

How are the various degrees defined?

Assault in the First Degree

You may be convicted of first-degree assault if you are found guilty of any of the following:

  • Intentionally causing serious physical injury to someone with a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument.
  • Causing serious physical injury to someone because you were trying to disfigure another or destroy, amputate, or disable a part of someone’s body.
  • Causing serious injury to someone because you were engaging in reckless conduct that put another person at risk of dying.
  • Intentionally causing physical injury to someone by discharging a firearm.

In our state, assault in the first degree is a Class B felony and punishable by five to 20 years in prison and fines of up to $15,000.

Assault in the Second Degree

You may be convicted of second-degree assault if you are found guilty of any of the following:

  • Intentionally causing serious physical injury to someone.
  • Intentionally causing physical injury to someone with a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument.
  • Recklessly causing serious physical injury to someone with a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument.
  • Intentionally causing a physical impairment or injury to someone through the use of unlawful drugs or substances without their permission.
  • Intentionally causing physical injury your parole officer or another employee of the Board of Pardon and Paroles while you are on parole.
  • Causing injury by striking someone on the head without provocation because you were trying to knock them unconscious.

In Connecticut, assault in the second degree is a Class D felony and punishable by one to five years in prison and fines of up to $5,000.

Assault in the Second Degree with a Firearm

You may be convicted of second-degree assault with a firearm if you are found guilty of any of the above actions while using, threatening to use, or displaying a firearm, or pretending to have a firearm.

In Connecticut, assault in the second degree with a firearm is a Class D felony and punishable by one to five years in prison and fines of up to $5,000.

Assault in the Second Degree with a Motor Vehicle

You may be convicted of second-degree assault with a motor vehicle if you are found guilty of causing serious physical injury to someone because you were operating a motor vehicle under the influence of an intoxicating substance.

In Connecticut, assault in the second degree with a motor vehicle is a Class D felony and punishable by one to five years in prison and fines of up to $5,000, in addition to one year of license suspension.

Assault in the Third Degree

You may be convicted of third-degree assault if you are found guilty of any of the following:

  • Intentionally causing physical injury to someone
  • Recklessly causing serious physical injury to someone
  • Causing physical injury to someone using a deadly weapon, electronic defense weapon, or dangerous instrument because you were criminally negligent.

In Connecticut, assault in the third degree is a Class A misdemeanor and punishable by up to one year in prison and fines of up to $2,000.

In addition, you may face a longer prison sentence if your assault charges involved a pregnant woman, blind person, prison official, or Department of Corrections employee.

How Douglas D. Rudolph Can Help You Fight Your New Haven Assault Charge

Assault cases are complicated and the consequences severe. If you have been arrested for or charged with any kind of violent crime, I encourage you to get in touch with me at The Law Office of Douglas D. Rudolph. I can examine your case and determine the best way to get your charges reduced or dropped entirely.

For example, I may be able to prove that you committed assault in self-defense or defense of another person. Alternatively, I could demonstrate that the fight was mutual or it was started by someone else.

Every case is unique, and only a skilled lawyer with experience defending against Connecticut assault charges will know the best strategy in your unique situation. To start building your strongest defense, get in touch with my New Haven law practice as soon as possible.

The sooner you do, the sooner my legal team can obtain the details of the case against you, investigate witness credibility, file motions to exclude unfair evidence, and execute other steps to defend your rights.

Contact the Law Office of Douglas D. Rudolph for a Free Connecticut Assault Case Evaluation

At The Law Office of Douglas D. Rudolph, we are ready to protect your rights as you go up against the Connecticut criminal justice system. If you have been charged with assault in New Haven or the surrounding area, get in touch with my law practice to set up a free case evaluation.

Reach out to The Law Office of Douglas D. Rudolph to start working on your assault defense today.

Our Blog

I Just Got An OUI Charge in Connecticut – Will I Lose My License? 

OUI | DUI/DWI

Most people associate drunk driving charges with the term “DUI.” It stands for driving under the influence of alcohol or other controlled substances. Connecticut works in a different way. If you have a .08 BAC or higher while operating a motor vehicle here, you will get charged with OUI – operating under the influence. 

Just because the name is different, though, don’t assume the penalties are. You can face incarceration and fines. You can be made to have an ignition [...]

What to Look for in Hiring a Criminal Defense Attorney

Criminal Law

Finding the right attorney can mean the difference between a reduced sentence, dismissal, acquittal, and a conviction. Many criminal defense attorneys offer free consultations to learn more about your case and goals. Not all attorneys are the same, varying greatly in the scope of services they provide. Looking for the right attorney can feel like blindly looking for a needle in a hay stack, especially criminal defense attorneys because people understandably don’t ever think they’ll need one – until they [...]

Law Office of Douglas D. Rudolph